Alex Wakely has described seeing himself in the Northamptonshire Hall of Fame as “pretty surreal” as the Club looks to add further members.

Wakely joined Lynn Wilson, one of the most generous benefactors in the club’s history, as the latest inductees into the Hall of Fame last summer.

“It’s an incredible honour but I feel slightly out of place to be honest.” Wakely joked as he saw his plaque in the Hall of Fame in the Spencer Pavilion for the first time.

“There’s some incredible names in this list so to be sat alongside them is pretty surreal.”

Wakely was recognised following his retirement after he came through the club’s youth system and Academy, before joining the professional staff in 2008.

In all formats he scored around 12,000 runs for Northamptonshire and captained the team in nearly 200 matches.

The Club will induct new members into the Hall of Fame at the End of Season Dinner.

The shortlist, compiled by Club Archivist Andrew Radd in conjunction with the board, is now available for supporters to cast their preferred choice on.

    One of the finest all-rounders of the inter-war period – 13,653 runs and 1,078 wickets for Northamptonshire, including six ‘doubles’ of 1,000 runs and 100 wickets in a season on six occasions purely in Northamptonshire matches.  Captain 1927-31.

    Unquestionably one of the most talented and entertaining English batters of his generation, he scored nearly 30,000 runs – at the top of the order – in all competitions for Northamptonshire between 1972 and 1991.  Played 13 Tests for England.

    After announcing himself with a double-century on first-class debut in 1996, he scored nearly 23,000 runs across all competitions for Northamptonshire before retiring in 2014 – without earning a Test cap.  Captain 2004-07.

    The Hall of Fame currently includes George Thompson, Billy East, ‘Nobby’ Clark, Fred Bakewell, Dennis Brookes, Freddie Brown, Frank Tyson, Keith Andrew, Colin Milburn, David Steele, Bishan Bedi, Mushtaq Mohammad, Allan Lamb, Ken Turner, the Kingston family, David Capel, Jim Watts, Alex Wakely and Lynn Wilson.